Benge to return to Aggie sidelines

Matt Benge – who coached the Aggies into Class C state girls basketball semifinals in 2011 – will return to the sidelines this winter, as he has been named head coach again of the Aggies.

“I felt like I wanted the challenge again,” Benge said. “It’s been a couple of years and when Catherine (Herriman) decided she was not going to do it, I put my name in the hat. I’ve got some girls that I’ve worked with when they were younger, including my daughter, and it was time to come back.”

In his four previous seasons coaching the Aggies, Benge went 73-19, winning Tri-County Conference titles in 2009 and 2011. That 2011 squad won a school-record 24 games, marching all the way into the Class C semifinals.

Herriman has coached the Aggies the last two seasons, going 20-20, overall. She is also the varsity softball coach.

The first official girls basketball practice is Nov. 10.

Leave a Reply

