Miller happy with Harbaugh hire

Garrett Miller

By DOUG DONNELLY

Count Sand Creek graduate Garrett Miller among those happy with who the Michigan Wolverines hired as its new football coach Tuesday.

Miller was a redshirt freshman on the Wolverines squad last year under Brady Hoke and hopes to return to the team next year. After Hoke was fired, Miller said he was confident Michigan would hire a first-class coach.

“As players, we were just being patient,” he said. “We knew Jim Hackett, the president and a lot of other people were going to do the best they could. I wasn’t really worried who they’d find. I knew it would be a good coach. I decided early on it wouldn’t matter who I wanted as coach, that I was going to go out and play as hard as I could for no matter who was coach.”

Miller hopes he can continue to be a walk on under Harbaugh.  The 6-4, 265-pound redshirt freshman didn’t make it to Ann Arbor for the press conference Tuesday, but did participate in a conference call with his new coach earlier in the day.

“I’m just excited and can’t want to see how the program will improve and what’s to come over the next few years,” Miller said. “I think it’s a great hire.”

The transition from the TCC to Michigan has been a big one, Miller said.

“I think it’s gone very well,” Miller said. “Everything is a completely different game, though, from playing in the TCC and D-7 football to UM – all of the lifting, the running, the speed of the game. I’m not the biggest kid anymore on the field by any means. But, I think I’ve adjusted pretty well.”

For more reaction, see Wednesday’s Daily Telegram.

Leave a Reply

