Facts, figures, streaks and numbers to help you get ready for football

The season openers for the eight Tri-County Conference teams are just about here and the 2015 season is ready to begin.

Some facts, figures and notes:

Season: 2015-16 will be the 43rd consecutive season of competition for the Tri-County Conference.

Most football titles: Sand Creek has the most TCC football titles with 15.

Most TCC wins: Sand Creek and coach Ernie Ayers has more wins than any other TCC program. Ayers has 14 league titles.

Last 10 years: Since joining the TCC, Clinton has dominated the league, winning 86 percent of its games and five league championships under coach Scott McNitt.

All-State players: The league had three Associated Press First Team All-State players last year in Torin Merillat (punter, Morenci), Alex Thomas (defensive back, Morenci) and Mathew Sexton (running back, Clinton). Thomas and Sexton return in 2015.

Last season: Remarkably, Clinton and Morenci each scored 365 in league games in 2014, for an average of 52.1 points a game, both league records. (Old record: Clinton scored 353 points (50.4 ppg) in 2013).

Austin Sandusky shattered the league mark for career points in league games last season – and two Clinton players surpassed the old record as well. Sandusky finished his career with 258 career points in TCC games. Collin Poore of Clinton scored 238 career points and Mathew Sexton of Clinton has 218 through his junior season. The old record was 206 points scored by Brandon Medlen of Summerfield. Sexton enters this season only 40 points behind Sandusky’s record.


Clinton has won 21 straight TCC games, the second longest streak in league history (Record: Sand Creek won 23 games twice, once from 1991-1994 and once from 2004-2007).

Whiteford enters 2015 with a 32-game winning streak against Madison in conference play, dating back to 1980.

Clinton has made the playoffs three consecutive seasons, longest current streak of playoff qualifiers in the TCC.

BD has lost eight straight league games. In its final two regular season games last year, the Patriots gave up 138 points – the most ever by a conference team in back-to-back games.

Madison enters the season in search of its first league title in 42 seasons of TCC competition.

Of the teams who have won a TCC title, Whiteford has gone the longest without one – 20 seasons, since 1994. Other teams and the number of years without a league title: Britton-Deerfield (14 years), Whitmore Lake (12 years), Morenci (11 years), Summerfield (4 years) and Sand Creek (3 years).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s