Mellon commits to Hope

MADISON TOWNSHIP – Connor Mellon has played quarterback for Madison for several years running. But, he knew if he wanted to play college football, he was probably going to have to change positions.

This week, Mellon committed to play college football at Hope College, where he will go into the program as a running back.

“They were very up front with me about it,” Mellon said. “They said from the start they were recruiting me as a running back. They told me that straight. That’s one of the things I like about them.”

Mellon (5-9, 170) finished third in the county in passing with 873 yards through the air last season and finished among the top 10 rushers with 684 yards on the ground, an average of more than eight yards a carry.

“It’s going to be an adjustment,” he said. “Of course I wanted to play quarterback, but I think it will be a good fit. Other schools wanted me to play the slot.”

Mellon drew interest from eight schools and visited several of them before choosing Hope, which plays in the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association. The Flying Dutchmen started 1-3 last season but won their last six games for a 7-3 mark.

“It’s in a good location,” he said. “Holland is a beautiful city. The downtown is amazing. … I love football. I didn’t want to not play and look back and wish I would have tried it. I want to experience what it is like playing college football.”connor-mellon-2016-a

Leave a Reply

